Twisting down the two arms of the great rift valley are the oldest, largest and deepest lakes in the world. These include the three largest lakes in Africa, Malawi, Tanganyika and Victoria.

Cichlids from the Great Lakes


HaplochrominesMalawi cichlids are seperated into two main groups, Haplochromines and Tilapiines. Haplochromines are then divided into two sub groups or genus, Haplochromis and Mbuna. These two genus are then seperated into species. Haplochromis is a ray-finned fish Genus in the family cichlidae. It has been used as the default "wastebin taxon" for pseudocrenilabrinae cichlids of the east African rift.

ExpandContinue Reading


MbunaMbuna (pronounced mboo-na) is the common name for a large group of African cichlids from lake Malawi. The name Mbuna means "rockfish" in the language of the Tonga people of Malawi. As the name implies, Mbuna are the cichilds that live among piles of rocks, as opposed to the Utaka, cichlids living in the open water like many other Haplochromines.

ExpandContinue Reading


TilapiinesThe Tilapiines is a tribe within the family cichlidae commonly known as Tilapiine cichlids. Most of the taxa herein are called "tilapias", a diverse and economically important group containing the genera Oreochromis, Sarotherodon and Tilapia. A number of smaller genera, such as Alcolapia, Danakilia, Iranocichla and Steatocranus are also placed herein.

ExpandContinue Reading

NB.This website uses cookies.
For more information please read the Privacy Page.

Published on